to return to
the previous page

We'll be Happy
to see you:

Monday - Thursday:
10:00am - 9:00pm

10:00am - 5:00pm

10:00 - 3:00pm

Just call us on:
01822   618994

Please scroll down to read the entire page

The word, 'Chakra', actually means spinning wheel, (Not as in the type used for spinning wool), and as the chakras are vortices of spinning energy, it becomes quite clear why they were so called. They appear to people, who have the ability to see them, as swirling pools of coloured light and, as the power stations of the body, they bring it to life and keep it healthy but they need to spin in complete balance for us to be well.

Chakras are said to be the junctions where our spirit, mind and body come together but, at the same time, they receive, assimilate and transform energy and constantly exchange it between the aura and the physical body. Their link and interaction with our body and its organs occurs through two major vehicles:

    a)  The endocrine system via their associated glands.

    b)  The nervous system via their associated nerve plexus.

The complete chakra system is extremely complex; there are three master, four major and over three thousand minor chakras in the body. The minor chakras are located in the hands, elbows, shoulders feet, knees, thighs, and genitals and connect to the physical body through minor glands and nerve clusters. As all living creatures have chakras, the immense complexity limits us here to just talk about the main chakras in humans.

The seven main chakras are said to be the centres of 'Prana', (The universal energy which flows in currents in and around our bodies). They are located in front of the spine, aligned vertically and are associated with various states of consciousness, archetypal elements, philosophical constructs and each one relates to a particular area of human experience, from our basic survival to our highest aspirations.

The lower Chakras, being physically closer to the earth, are related to the more practical matters of our lives, (survival, movement, action etc.), whilst the upper Chakras, being physically closer to the universe, represent our mental realms and workings on more of a symbolic level through words, images and concepts.

Of the main chakras, only five are believed to possess a frontal aspect, (generally dominant), and a posterior aspect, (less dominant). The root Chakra, located just beneath the base of the spine and the crown chakra, located just above the crown of the head, are believed to have only one dominant component; the root chakra opening downwards and the crown chakra opening upwards. Energy is transmitted through all of the various energy points but extra energy is more commonly channeled through these two.

The Chakras absorb and store the energy that originates from our feelings, thoughts and outside environment, such as food, water, oxygen, sunlight, cosmic energy, love, music etc.), and channel it through our bodies. Just like their depiction as lotus flowers, they can either be open or closed, shining or dying, depending on the state of our consciousness.

Because the chakras work both individually and together as a single unit, any imbalance in a single chakra is sure to have a knock-on effect to the others and the disharmony can lead to problems in our physical body and/or our mental state. During times of stress, the chakras can loose their ability to synchronise with each other and this will result in an imbalance. When negative energy becomes stored in a chakra, it becomes blocked and this will impair its function and further imbalances usually occur in the others, as they try to compensate for the problem.

When we feel tension in our consciousness, we feel it in the associated chakra and also in the part of our physical body that is associated with that chakra. Where we feel the stress will depend upon WHY we feel the stress. The tension in the chakra will be picked up by the nerves of the corresponding nerve plexus and the associated endocrine gland, and then communicated to the part of the body controlled by them. It is when this sort of tension continues over a long period of time, or when it reaches a particular level of intensity that the chakra is deemed to be blocked and we will surely show signs and symptoms.

Throughout our life journey, we are sure to experience events that hinder the flow of energy within one or several of our chakras and this can manifest in over activity and/or under activity within them. Whichever way, if the energy moves too quickly or too slowly through the chakras, it will prevent them from functioning correctly and consequently interfere with the natural ebb and flow of Prana.

The major triggers associated with Chakra blockages are:

• Childhood traumas
• Injuries, either physical or emotional
• Limited beliefs
• Cultural conditioning
• Exhaustive or restrictive habits
• Attention deprivation

As a result of one or several of these, we can establish chronic patterns within our daily experience which, in turn, prompt us to create survival and defence structures in which we find refuge and FEEL temporarily safe.

Strangely enough, this state is generally referred to as our Comfort zone.

You can read more about each of the individual chakras by clicking the caduceus
in each of the seven remaining sections of the site.

The earliest mention of Chakras appeared more than 4000 years ago in the Veda, a collective name given to the oldest books known to man.

They were so called because, in the earliest language, Sanskrit, Veda translates as, ‘Knowledge’.

Whilst there are various models of the chakra system, they all seem to have one thing in common; they all have an association with the body's endocrine system and link with their respective glands which, as many of you will already know, chemically signal and communicate with one another, and produce and regulate hormones.
As chakras cannot be seen by everyone, they cannot be classified as physical but nevertheless serve as gateways for energy passing both in and out of our body and influence the specific endocrine gland to which they correspond.

Each of the main chakras have their own responsibilities but they also work in a continuous relationship with each other towards achieving balance.

Chakric malfunctions directly affect our endocrine system and consequently affect our health, either physically or mentally.